top of page


Sanskrit: समाधि

"The highest state of meditation is Samadhi, where there is no ego anymore, no doubts, no me, no you, no notion of time, no eating, no talking, no walking, no working and not doing anything at all, realising that the Self is action-less".

Dharma Mittra

When all the previous limbs are practised it brings us to the highest fruit in the eight-fold path of Yoga, which is the attainment of Samādhi. Samādhi means “to bring together, to merge.”

1) So we direct our energies in the YAMAS to live a life that is non-violent (Ahimsa) and speak the truth to ourselves and others (Satya); to not steal materially or emotionally (Asteya); to cultivate healthy relationships (Bramacharya) and to let go of thoughts, emotions and possessions which hold us back (Aparigraha).

2) The NIYAMAS urge us to keep our mental, physical and surrounding environment clean (Saucha). By practising contentment (Santosha) with our present circumstances it provides the foundation to take a disciplined (Tapas) route. By reflecting on our thoughts and actions and taking the appropriate course (Swadhyaya) we are able to surrender ourselves to a greater power (Ishvarapranidhana) with an unshakable belief that our path will nourish our wellbeing and provide opportunities for growth.

3) To nurture our physical body, we practise ASANA.

4) The breath (Pranayama) allows us to settle our nervous system which in turn

5) allows us to direct our attention internally (Pratyahara) so that we are able to observe our reactions and respond appropriately.

6) As we are able to concentrate (Dharana) on the important elements,

7) we become completely absorbed in the total process both within our practice and our lives (Dhyana).

Each of the ‘limbs’ of yoga provide the conditions that prime us physically, ethically, emotionally and spiritually to live life that will bear healthy fruit — a state of joy and peace — Samādhi.


In his fifth book, Gregor Maehle shows how all yogic techniques and methods collaborate to bring about its pinnacle - the state of samadhi. The book culminates in a detailed description of the eight classical samadhis as listed in the Yoga Sutra, both from the practical view of content and experience and from the techniques to access them. The author also shows the importance that these states have for a new enchantment with our world, nature, and all beings. On the way to that climax, Maehle dissolves misconceptions about samadhi, shows the importance of both objectless and the much-neglected objective samadhi, what exactly stands in the way of their arising, how obstacles are removed and dissolved, the role of the teacher, and the role of grace and devotion. He also shows how many other yogic techniques contribute to samadhi.

45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page